State of Nevada Aging and Disability Services State Examination for LBA and LaBA: **Candidate Guide**

2019

BEHAVIOR ANAYLSIS STATE EXAMINATION:

NRS 437 requires the State of Nevada Aging and Disability Services to administer a state exam for a license as a behavior analyst and assistant behavior analyst.

1) Must be certified by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board and 2) May be required to take a written examination in Nevada law and ethical practice as administered by the Board. The ADSD has elected to administer a state examination addressing the practice of applied behavior analysis, including, without limitation, federal and state laws, ethical principles and codes of professional conduct relevant to the practice of applied behavior analysis in this State. All candidates for a license are required to take the same state examination.

PURPOSE OF THE STATE EXAMINATION

The purpose of the state examination is to identify persons who possess the minimum qualifications, knowledge, experience, and level of competency necessary to be licenseworthy behavior analysts in the State of Nevada, promote the competent practice of behavior analysis in Nevada, and ensure public welfare.

Aging and Disability Services Division

Please send payment to: **ADSD** 3416 Goni Rd. Suite D-132 Carson City, NV 89706

Phone: (775) 687-0541 Fax: (775) 687-0574 ababoard@adsd.nv.gov www.adsd.nv.gov



ELIGIBILITY AND FEES

A candidate is eligible to take the state examination once the candidate's application for licensure or certification has been completed and approved by the ADSD. The fee for the state examination is \$151.33, payable 1 week prior to the examination. A candidate needs to pay this fee each time the candidate takes the examination.

FORMAT

The state examination consists of 40 multiple-choice questions to be completed in 60 minutes. Each question has four answer choices and only one correct answer. There is no penalty for guessing, therefore, a candidate is encouraged to answer all the questions. All unanswered questions will be marked incorrect.

SPECIAL ACCOMMODATIONS

A candidate with a mental or physical disability who requires additional time or special accommodations may submit a request to the Division for such arrangements. The request must include a description of the nature of the disability and limitations related to the examination, type of accommodations requested, and supporting documentation from a psychologist, psychiatrist, physician, or other qualified professional. Requests are reviewed and granted on an individual basis.

The disability forms can be obtained through ADSD. Please submit requests no later than 2 weeks prior to taking the exam, to allow ADSD evaluation.

PREPARING TO TAKE THE STATE **EXAMINATION**

Much of the information a candidate will require to successfully take the state examination will come from the candidate's education, training, and professional experience. Additionally, there is information specific to the practice of behavior analysis in the State of Nevada that will be prudent to know to pass the examination and practice competently in Nevada.

It is recommended to review the following information:

Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) and Nevada Administrative Code (NAC)

The Nevada laws applicable to the practice of behavior analysis are: **NRS 437, and other relevant NRS sections** (most cross referenced in NRS 641). NRS and NAC can be accessed via the Internet utilizing the Nevada Legislature's home page at www.leg.state.nv.us.

Other Relevant NRS Sections

- Abuse, neglect, exploitation or isolation of older persons and vulnerable persons, duties NRS 200.5091 – 200.50995
- Admission to mental health facilities, NRS 433A.115 433A.140
- Child abuse or neglect, general provisions and reports, NRS 432B.010 – 432B.170, 432B.220 – 432B.320
- Criminal defendants, competency evaluations, NRS 178.3981 – 178.417
- NRS 433A.200--Parent consent for minor admission to psychiatric facilities.
- Delinquents or children in need of supervision, examination, NRS 62A.270, 62C.060, 62E.280
- Emergency admission, NRS 433A.145 433A.190
- Hospitalization, NRS 433A.350 433A.490
- Involuntary court-ordered admission, NRS 433A.200 433A.330
- Health care records, NRS 629, 49.117 49.123, 49.245, 49.265, 51.135
- Privileged communications, psychologist and patient, NRS 49.207 – 49.213
- Sex offenders, psychosexual evaluations and risk assessment, NRS 176.133 – 176.139, 176A.110
- Sexual assault, assistance to victims, NRS 217.280 217.350
- Victim of crime, NRS 217.245

Federal Law

Relevant federal laws include the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act, Patriot Act, Americans with Disability Act, and Title VII of the Civil Rights Act.

Behavior Analyst Certification Board Professional and Ethical Compliance Code

The ADSD has adopted the provisions set forth in the most recent edition of the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB) Professional and Ethical Compliance Code. These may be accessed via BACB's Website, https://www.bacb.com/ethics/ethics-code/

EXAMINATION POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

Check-in. On the day of the examination, candidates will be required to arrive at the examination check-in site *at least 15-minutes prior but not more than 30 minutes prior to the examination time*. Candidates must provide a valid form of government issued photographic identification and sign a security agreement to not engage in conduct that violates the security of the examination including not reproducing, reconstructing, or disclosing the content of the examination.

Failure to Cancel, No-Show and Tardiness. Candidates who fail to cancel within two prior business days of the examination or no-show to the examination must re-register for the examination and pay the applicable fee. <u>Candidates who arrive late may not be allowed to take the examination and the examination fee may be forfeited</u>. The examination will not be disrupted to accommodate late arrivals.

Personal Belongings. Candidates may keep keys, wallets, and small purses on the floor near their feet during the examination. Layered clothing is recommended including lightweight shirts, sweaters and pullovers without pockets. Any paper, notebooks, reference or reading material, backpacks, briefcases, duffel bags, handbags, tote bags, hats, scarves, drinks, and food can be left at the front of the examination room. Examination staff will direct individuals on where to place items.

Prohibited Items. The following items are prohibited in the examination room: Cellular phones, PDAs, pagers, cameras, recording devices, computers, music devices, other electronic devices. Candidates are expected to keep prohibited items in their vehicle or other place of safe keeping. If securing belongings results in the candidate being late for the examination, the candidate will not be permitted to take the examination and will need to re-register for the examination and pay the applicable fee.

Seating and Time Keeping. Examination staff will assign candidates a seat and be the official time-keeper for the start and end of the examination. Candidates will have 60 minutes to complete the examination and will be provided feedback regarding time at regular intervals. Candidates, who require additional time due to a disability and have been granted preapproval by the Board will be allowed additional, predesignated time.