

For more information or to register please visit: http://adsd.nv.gov/Programs/Physical/ComAccessSvc/Interpreter\_Registry/Interpreter\_Registry/

#### **Registration is required for:**

### Sign language interpreters\*

#### **Cued speech transliterators**

# CART and realtime captioning providers

In

#### community or educational

settings who provide services in the

#### State of Nevada

#### for more than 30 days

in a calendar year.

For more information, contact Jenn Montoya: (775) 434-0237 (775) 431-0135 (Text only) InterpreterRegistry@adsd.nv.gov

\*An "interpreter" is any person who facilitates communication between persons who are deaf or whose hearing is impaired and other persons.

#### Registered providers are responsible for:

- Reporting employment information (for educational interpreters only)
- Remaining current on their professional development plans and plans for mentoring (if required)
- Updating their contact information with the Registry
- ✓ Updating the Registry of changes in their assessment or certification status
- Renewing their registration every 3 years (for noncertified interpreters), or every 5 years (for certified interpreters)
- ✓ Providing proof of registration

#### Exceptions:

Those who provide services only for:

- Nonprofit civil or religious organizations,
- ✤ An emergency medical situation,
- Occasional social situations where a qualified provider is not required (according to the ADA or section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973)
- Broadcast (applies only to CART or realtime captioning providers)

# **NRS 656A**



Nevada law on qualifications and registration for:

## Sign language interpreters and CART and realtime captioning providers

Steve Sisolak, Governor

Richard Whitley, Director Department of Health and Human Services

Dena Schmidt, Administrator Aging and Disability Services Division