

State-by-State: Assisted Living Regulations

by Hanna Trudo, Jonathan Jones and A.C. Thompson, ProPublica - October 29, 2013

ProPublica set out to compile the key rules and regulations governing assisted living in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. This information was gathered from state regulatory agencies, an examination of state codes and other records, and a 2013 review prepared by the National Center for Assisted Living, an industry trade group.

These are the categories included here: the qualifications required for those who run assisted living facilities; the frequency of inspections; fines for problem facilities; staffing requirements, and whether states offer performance records of the facilities to the public online. *See more about the data.* > | Related Story >

| Frequency of Inspections | | | | | | | |
|--------------------------|------------------|------------------|------------------|---------------|-------------------|--|--|
| | | | | | | | |
| Every 5 years | Every 4 years | Every 3 years | Every 2 years | Every year | Twice per year | | |

Other columns to add to this comparison table: -Beltca certified administrator -sprinklers required

-liability insurance

| State | State Can Fine Facilities? | State Posts Inspection Data Online? | Administrators Required to Have High School Diploma, GED, or College Education? | Minimum Staffing Ratios? | Frequency of Inspections |
|---------------|-------------------------------|---|--|-----------------------------|---|
| Alabama B | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No requirement for periodic inspections |
| Alaska A | Yes | No | No | No | Every two years |
| Arizona D | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Every two years |
| Arkansas C | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Every year |
| California E | Yes | No | Yes | No | Every five years |
| Colorado F | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Every three years |
| Connecticut G | No | No | Yes | No | Every two years |
| Delaware H | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Every year |
| Florida I | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Every two years |
| Georgia J | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Every two years |

| State | State Can Fine Facilities? | State Posts Inspection Data Online? | Administrators Required to Have High School Diploma, GED, or College | Minimum Staffing Ratios? | Frequency of Inspections |
|--------------------|-------------------------------|---|--|-----------------------------|-----------------------------|
| | | | Education? | | _ |
| Hawaii K | Yes | No | No | No | Every two years |
| Idaho M | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Every three years |
| Illinois N | Yes | No | Yes | No | Every two years |
| Indiana O | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Every 15 months |
| Iowa L | Yes | Yes | No | No | Every two years |
| Kansas P | Yes | No | Yes | No | Every 15 months |
| Kentucky Q | Yes | No | Yes | No | Every two years |
| Louisiana R | Yes | No | No | No | Every year |
| Maine U | Yes | No | No | Yes | Every two years |
| Maryland T | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Every 15 months |
| Massachusetts S | Yes | No | Yes | No | Every two years |
| Michigan V | Yes | No | No | Yes | Every two years |
| Minnesota W | Yes | Yes | No | No | No requirement for |
| winnesota w | | | | | periodic inspections |
| Mississippi Y | No | No | Yes | Yes | Every two years |
| Missouri X | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Twice per year |
| Montana Z | No | No | Yes | No | Every three years |
| Nebraska c | Yes | Yes | No | No | Every five years |
| Nevada g | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Every year |
| New Hampshire d | Yes | No | Yes | No | Every year |
| New Jersey e | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Every three years |
| New Mexico f | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No requirement for |
| New MEXICO I | | | | | periodic inspections |
| New York h | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Every 18 months |
| North Carolina a | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Every two years |
| North Dakota b | Yes | No | No | No | Every two years |
| Ohio i | No | Yes | Yes | No | Every 15 months |
| Oklahoma j | Yes | Yes | No | No | Every 15 months |
| Oregon k | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Every two years |
| Pennsylvania l | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Every year |
| Rhode Island m | Yes | No | No | No | Every year |
| South Carolina n | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | No requirement for |
| South Carolina II | | | | | periodic inspections |
| South Dakota o | No | No | Yes | No | Every year |
| Tennessee p | Yes | No | Yes | No | Every 15 months |
| Texas q | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Every two years |
| Utah r | Yes | No | Yes | No | No requirement for |
| | | | | | periodic inspections |
| Vermont t | Yes | Yes | No | No | No requirement for |
| | | | | | periodic inspections |
| Virginia s | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Every year |
| Washington u | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Every two years |
| Washington, D.C. y | Yes | Yes | No | No | Every year |
| West Virginia w | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Every year |
| Wisconsin v | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Every two years |
| Wyoming x | No | Yes | No | No | Every three years |
| | | | | | |

About the data

The rules and regulations proved not easy to decipher. There is, for instance, no single, standard definition of assisted living. As well, each state defines and licenses assisted living differently. Many states set different staffing and training requirements depending on a facility's size, the levels of care offered, and other types of services. In addition, many states have also recently revised or are in the process of refining their rules and regulations. According to the National Center for Assisted Living, 18 states reported regulatory, statutory, or policy changes affecting assisted living and other residential care facilities in 2012.

States also vary in how much information about assisted living they post online. While some states post the entire inspection reports for individual facilities online, others post only a portion of the reports, a simple listing of violations, or the enforcement letters the state sent to individual facilities. Here, if a state is listed as "No" in this category, it means that the state does not post any information from either complaint or inspection reports on the Internet.

Most states require a high school diploma, a GED or some post-high school education as part of their qualifications to become an administrator of an assisted living facility. However, some states require high school diplomas for certain types of assisted living facilities, but not all. Similarly, some states, Alabama, Arkansas and Maine among them, set specific staffing ratios for certain types of assisted living facilities, such as those that offer specialty Alzheimer's and dementia care, but not all.

When it comes to the frequency of inspections, our graphic reflects the maximum time each state allows between routine inspections conducted by the state regulatory agency. In some of these states, certain facilities may be inspected more frequently. Our data does not include state investigations prompted by complaints, reports of abuse, or other incidents.

We intend this information to be of assistance to families, legislators, and to all involved in caring for, or advocating on behalf of, the elderly. We invite informed readers to offer clarifications to existing regulations or updates as rules and regulations are modified in the months ahead.

Donate

ProPublica © Copyright 2015 Pro Publica Inc. About Us Staff Contact Jobs Complaints and Corrections Privacy Policy and Other Terms FAQ

Sign up for Daily Email Become a fan on Facebook Follow us on Twitter See staff Twitter accounts Download our apps for: iPhone | Android Listen to our Podcast Subscribe via RSS

Steal Our Stories Unless otherwise noted, you can republish our stories for free if you follow these rules.