# Am I Eligible for Personal Care Assistance Through PAS?

- Do you need assistance with the daily living tasks PAS provides?
- 2. Are you a Nevada resident?
- 3. Will your licensed physician diagnose you as severely physically disabled and in need of PAS?
- 4. Can you supervise a personal care assistant or designate someone else to do so on your behalf?
- 5. Can you be independent with no more than 35 hours of personal care per week (unless supplemented by another resource)?
- 6. Have you applied to all other available resources, such as ADSD's Home and Community Based Waiver and Medicaid's personal care program?

If you can answer "yes" to these questions, you should apply for services by contacting one of the ADSD regional offices listed on the back of this brochure.



## Client-Specified Personal Care Assistants

In some cases, a family member or other trusted individual may be trained and employed by a PAS care-provider agency to be a paid caregiver for a program recipient.



Aging and Disability Services Division (ADSD)

## For More Information

### In Northern and Rural Nevada

Aging and Disability Services Division 445 Apple Street, Suite 104 Reno, NV 89502

**Phone**: (775) 688-2964 **Fax**: (775) 688-2969

### In Southern Nevada

Aging and Disability Services Division 1860 East Sahara Las Vegas, NV 89104

**Phone**: (702) 486-3545 **Fax**: (702) 486-3569

#### **Email and Web Site**

adsd@adsd.nv.gov
http://dhhs.nv.gov/ODS\_Programs.htm



# Preserving Your Independence

The Nevada Personal Assistance Services (PAS) program provides personal assistance to individuals with severe disabilities so they can:

✓ WORK
 ✓ VOLUNTEER
 ✓ GO TO SCHOOL
 ✓ ENGAGE IN FAMILY LIFE
 ✓ AVOID INSTITUTIONAL CARE



## **Preserving Your Independence**

The Aging and Disability Services Division (ADSD) administers the PAS program through qualified vendors. The program's personal assistants are responsible for providing non-medical supportive services to Nevadans who have disabilities and are able to direct their own care.

The personal assistance services offered through this program have been established by state law. Because of limited resources, however, individuals who wish to receive PAS services are ranked according to need and placed on a waiting list until funds become available to provide services for additional individuals at their level of care.

# Respite Services May Be Available to You

Ask an ADSD PAS coordinator about respite services that may be available to you:

- ✓ For PAS clients, care hours are available to allow relief for family caregivers.
- For PAS applicants, care hours may be available to relieve family caregivers, if funding permits.

## What Can I Expect?

- ADSD's PAS coordinator will arrange for a licensed professional to meet with you at your home to assess the tasks and hours of service you need.
- ✓ An ADSD team will review the assessment, determine your eligibility, and authorize up to 35 hours per week of service.
- You will choose a provider agency, whose staff can assign an assistant trained in lifting, transferring and first aid, and whose references and background have been checked. If you prefer, you may recruit an assistant who will be properly trained.
- ✓ Whether you receive services through a self-directed or traditional care model, you do not have to keep an assistant you do not want.

If your care requires skilled services (such as catheterization or bowel care), or if you want to direct the details of your care, contact us to find out more about the option of receiving PAS services through an Intermediary Service Organization (ISO).

## What Are My Responsibilities?

You and/or your designee will:

- ✓ Interview one or more referred assistants until you select the one you think will work best with you. You can also recruit an assistant for yourself. You have choice.
- ✓ Familiarize your assistant with your care routine, needs and preferences.
- ✓ Schedule your care and sign all time sheets.
- Ensure your assistant does the tasks agreed to, comes on time, and stays the assigned time.
- ✓ Maintain a professional working relationship with your assistant.
- Report any problems to your ADSD PAS coordinator immediately.
- ✓ If you prefer—with the assistance of family members, neighbors, friends, or others—find a trusted individual to act as a backup caregiver in case your assistant cannot be with you. Most agencies will be able to assign a backup caregiver in such an instance.
- ✓ If applicable, pay your co-payment to ADSD in a timely manner, or apply for a waiver of the co-payment where hardship or compelling and urgent circumstances exist.