Am 1 Eligible for Personal Care
Assistance Through PAS?

1. Do you need assistance with the daily
living tasks PAS provides?

2. Are you a Nevada resident?

3. Will your licensed physician diagnose
you as severely physically disabled and
in need of PAS?

4. Can you supervise a personal care
assistant or designate someone else to
do so on your behalf?

5. Can you be independent with no more
than 35 hours of personal care per
week (unless supplemented by another
resource)?

6. Have you applied to all other available
resources, such as ADSD's Home and
Community Based Waiver and
Medicaid’s personal care program?

If you can answer “yes” to these
guestions, you should apply for
services by contacting one of the
ADSD regional offices listed on
the back of this brochure.

Client-Specified Personal
Care Assistants

In some cases, a family member or other
trusted individual may be trained and
employed by a PAS care-provider agency
to be a paid caregiver for a program
recipient.
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Aging and Disability
Services Division
(ADSD)

For More Information

In Northern and Rural Nevada

Aging and Disability Services Division
445 Apple Street, Suite 104
Reno, NV 89502

Phone: (775) 688-2964
Fax: (775) 688-2969

In Southern Nevada

Aging and Disability Services Division
1860 East Sahara
Las Vegas, NV 89104

Phone: (702) 486-3545
Fax: (702) 486-3569

Email and Web Site

adsd@adsd.nv.gov
http://dhhs.nv.gov/ODS _Programs.htm
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Preserving Your
Independence

The Nevada Personal Assistance
Services (PAS) program provides
personal assistance to individuals
with severe disabilities so they can:

v WORK v VOLUNTEER
v GO TO SCHOOL
v ENGAGE IN FAMILY LIFE
v AVOID INSTITUTIONAL CARE
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Preserving Your Independence

The Aging and Disability Services Division
(ADSD) administers the PAS program
through qualified vendors. The program’s
personal assistants are responsible for
providing non-medical supportive services to
Nevadans who have disabilities and are able
to direct their own care.

The personal assistance services offered
through this program have been established
by state law. Because of limited resources,
however, individuals who wish to receive
PAS services are ranked according to need
and placed on a waiting list until funds
become available to provide services for
additional individuals at their level of care.

Respite Services May Be
Available to You

Ask an ADSD PAS coordinator about respite
services that may be available to you:

v" For PAS clients, care hours are available
to allow relief for family caregivers.

v' For PAS applicants, care hours may be
available to relieve family caregivers, if
funding permits.

What Can | Expect?

v" ADSD’s PAS coordinator will arrange for
a licensed professional to meet with you
at your home to assess the tasks and
hours of service you need.

v An ADSD team will review the
assessment, determine your eligibility,
and authorize up to 35 hours per week
of service.

v" You will choose a provider agency,
whose staff can assign an assistant
trained in lifting, transferring and first
aid, and whose references and
background have been checked. If you
prefer, you may recruit an assistant who
will be properly trained.

v" Whether you receive services through a
self-directed or traditional care model,
you do not have to keep an
assistant you do not want.

If your care requires skilled services
(such as catheterization or bowel care),
or if you want to direct the details of
your care, contact us to find out more
about the option of receiving PAS
services through an Intermediary
Service Organization (1SO).

What Are My Responsibilities?

You and/or your designee will:

v' Interview one or more referred
assistants until you select the one you
think will work best with you. You can
also recruit an assistant for yourself.
You have choice.

v' Familiarize your assistant with your
care routine, needs and preferences.

v' Schedule your care and sign all time
sheets.

v' Ensure your assistant does the tasks
agreed to, comes on time, and stays the
assigned time.

v" Maintain a  professional  working
relationship with your assistant.

v' Report any problems to your ADSD PAS
coordinator immediately.

v If you prefer—with the assistance of
family members, neighbors, friends, or
others—find a trusted individual to act
as a backup caregiver in case your
assistant cannot be with you. Most
agencies will be able to assign a backup
caregiver in such an instance.

v' If applicable, pay your co-payment to
ADSD in a timely manner, or apply for a
waiver of the co-payment where
hardship or compelling and urgent
circumstances exist.



