State of Nevada Aging and
Disability Services Division

Presents



Elder Abuse Training

Don’t Abuse
Elders!

It’s a Crime!




Persons Convicted of Elder Abuse in Nevada
Could Serve up to 20 Years in Prison!




What Is Elder Abuse?

In general, elder abuse is a term referring to
any knowing, intentional, or negligent act
by a caregiver or any other person that
causes harm or a serious risk of harm to an
older person. An older person is defined in
Nevada law as a person who is 60 years of
age or older.



Types of Elder Abuse

Abuse
Neglect
Self-neglect
Exploitation
Isolation

(...as defined by Nevada Revised Statute, NRS 200.5092)



Abuse

Abuse as defined by Nevada law - the willful and
unjustified infliction of pain, injury or mental anguish or
deprivation of food, shelter, clothing, or services necessary
to maintain the physical or mental health of an older
person. An older person is defined as a person 60 years of
age or older.

Physical Abuse

e Serious or unexplained injury

e Sexual assault

e |nappropriate physical or chemical restraint

e Medication abuse (over-medicating or under-
medicating)




Psychological (Mental) Abuse

e Verbal assaults, threats or harassment
e Humiliation or intimidation

e Demeaning name calling




Sexual Assault

Sexual Assault is defined as:

 When any person over the age of 60 is forced,
tricked, coerced or manipulated into any
unwanted sexual contact.

 This includes sexual contact with anyone who is
unable to give informed consent.

e Sexual Assault includes but is not limited to rape,
unwanted touching, explicit photography etc.



Neglect
Failure to provide:
e Food g
+ Clothing W

e Shelter

* Services such as medical care and personal
hygiene

Neglect does not have to be intentional. The person
just has to have a duty to provide these services.
Allowing or permitting harm may also involve
neglect, particularly %onceéning health and safety
azards.



Self-neglect.

Self-neglect is the failure of an older person to
provide for his or her own needs because of an
inability to do so.

Self-neglect is not a crime. An elder has the right to
make his or her own choices unless a judge
declares the individual incompetent.




SELF - DETERMINATION

Substantial attention is given to the concept of self
determination.

Self determination is the right of an individual to make their
own decisions, good or bad.

It is important to remember there must be special attention
given to an older persons capacity or incapacity.

Often times the right to self determination rules when the
older person has capacity and the older person continues to
live in the community making poor choices.

Older people without capacity who clearly cannot make
decisions on their behalf must receive intervention.



Exploitation

e |s aviolation of a relationship based on trust
(this may include situations in which a
guardianship or power of attorney exists).

* |nvolves deception, intimidation, or undue
influence.

e |s an attempt to obtain control of money,
assets or property with the intent to
permanently deprive the older person of the
assets.
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Isolation

It may be a crime to intentionally prevent elders
from:

e Receiving phone calls
e Receiving mail
* Recelving visitors

e And it may be a crime to physically restrain an
elder in order to prevent visitation
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Isolation

(Continued)

Restraining an Elder to prevent visitation is
criminal when done without justification
(such as to protect property or the physical
or mental welfare of the elderly person).




Signs of Abuse in the Elderly

Suspect elder abuse if you notice an older person
suffering from any of the following conditions

Inadequately explained bruises, cuts, or burns
Dehydration or malnutrition
Overly medicated or extremely sedated

Unusual confinement (closed off in a room, tied to
furniture)

Lack of cleanliness, grooming %




Signs of Abuse in the Elderly

(Continued)

Fear of speaking for oneself in the presence of the
caretaker; anxious to please

Anxiety, confusion, withdrawal, depression
Shame, fear, embarrassment
Sudden change in financial activity

Unusual cash withdrawals from the elder’s ;
account in a short period of time




Signs in the Abusing Caretaker

(Continued)

Suspect elder abuse if a caretaker displays any of
the following behaviors

 Threatening remarks or behavior

e Conflicting stories (such as how the elder was
injured)

e Insults, aggressive behavior

 Withholding of attention, security, and
affection



Signs in the Abusive Caretaker

(Continued)

e Attitude of indifference or anger toward the elder
in their care

 Unusual fatigue, depression Danger|

e Obvious absence of assistance or attendance

A history of family abusive behavior or other hostile
behavior patterns can predispose a caretaker to acting
out his or her anger, especially when under stress.



The Victims

A typical victim may:

 Be a female age 75 or older (about 2/3 of
victims fall into this category)

e Live with their abuser



The Victims ﬁ
(Continued)

A victim may deny the reported abuse and put up
barriers to assistance because they are:

e Reluctant to tell anyone because they are ashamed that
their children or caretaker has mistreated them

e Dependent on the abuser

e Fearful of being sent to a nursing home or being taken
away

e Worried that if the abuser is taken away they will be
alone

e Fearful of retaliation




State of Nevada Elder Abuse Law

e Elder Protective Services role and the
definitions of Elder Abuse are guided by the
NRS 200.5092

e Mandated reporting guidelines can be found
in NRS 200.5093

e Elder abuse reporting regulations that are
specific to each facility type can be found in
NAC 449.



Federal Elder Abuse Guidelines

o Skilled Nursing Facilities must recognize and
follow State and Federal laws pertaining to Elder
Abuse and Reporting. The Code of Federal
Regulation is CFR 483.13.

e The Bureau of Health Care Quality and
Compliance can be contacted for specific
information pertaining to federal law. Carson City
(775) 684-1030 or Las Vegas (702) 486-6515



Reporting Suspicion of a Crime

e Section 11508 of the Social Security Act (the Act), as
established by section 6703(b)(3) of the Patient
Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010
(Affordable Care Act), requires specific individuals in
applicable long-term care facilities to report any
reasonable suspicion of crimes committed against a
resident of that facility.

e More information about this law can be found:

http://www.cms.gov/Surveycertificationgeninfo/downloads/S
ClLetter11l 30.pdf




What can be done to
Stop Elder Abuse?

Report
nvestigate

ntervene

Prosecute



A mandatory reporter is someone who is
required by Nevada Law to notify a particular
state or local agency when the person, in his/her
professional or occupational capacity, knows or
has reason to believe that a person 60 years or
older is being abused, neglected, or isolated.

Reports should be made immediately or within
24 hours.



Mandated Reporters

Failure to report is
a misdemeanor,

Punishable by law
up to 6 months in
jail and/or a fine of
$1000




Who Are Mandated Reporters?

Physicians e Physician’s Assistants
Dentists e Psychiatrists

Dental Hygienists e Psychologists
Chiropractors e Marriage and Family
Optometrists Therapists

Podiatrists e Alcohol or Drug Abuse

Counselors
e Ambulance Drivers

Medical Examiners

Residents -
Interns . Emerg.e.ncy Medical

. _ Technicians
Professional or Practical . A I .
Nurses ny person employed by a

facility that provides care

Nursing Home employees for older persons



Who Are Mandated Reporters?

(Continued)
Government Employees of the Department of

Human Services

Mortuary and Funeral Home Employees
Social Workers

Home Health Agency Employees
Coroners

Law Enforcement Employees

Probation Officers, Juvenile or Adult



Any life-threatening Elder Abuse must be reported to law
enforcement immediately.

Any allegations or suspicions of Sexual Assault must be
reported to law enforcement immediately.

After the report has been made, a referral should be
forwarded to the Elder Rights Unit, either by telephone, in
person, or in writing.

Any person making a good faith report of suspected elder
abuse is immune from civil or criminal liability for
reporting. NRS 200.5096



Content of Reports

The report must contain the following information, when possible:

a)
b)

c)

d)

e)
f)

The name and address of the older person or vulnerable person;

The name and address of the person responsible for his or her care, if
there is one;

The name and address, if available, of the person who is alleged to
have abused, neglected, exploited or isolated the older person or
vulnerable person;

The nature and extent of the abuse, neglect, exploitation or isolation of
the older person or vulnerable person;

Any evidence of previous injuries; and

The basis of the reporter’s belief that the older person or vulnerable
person has been abused, neglected, exploited or isolated

Note: “Potential” abuse is not reportable — The reporter must state the
reasons and/or facts that lead them to believe abuse has occurred.



Where to Report Elder Abuse

Aging and Disability Services Division
Elder Rights Intake Unit

Statewide: In the Las Vegas Area:
1-888-729-0571 702-486-6930
AFTER HOURS CONTACT

Local Law Enforcement (Any police department or Sheriff’s
Office. If there is imminent danger involved, contact 911)
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