

Department of Health and Human Services Aging and Disability Services Division Communication Access Services Program

The Nevada Interpreter/CART Registry

If you have any questions about the information provided in this document, please contact the <u>Nevada Interpreter/CART Registry</u>

<u>Overview</u>

Sign language interpreters and CART and realtime captioning providers who provide services for Deaf and Hard of Hearing individuals must be registered with the Nevada Interpreter/CART Registry in the appropriate category according to the setting(s) in which they provide services.

Registration ensures minimum credential requirements, professional development, and adherence to the Nevada Code of Ethics for Registered Interpreters. Underqualified sign language interpreters who meet the minimum requirements may be registered provisionally for up to 5 years. Registered interpreters must renew their registration annually. There is no cost to register or renew registration.

Registration cycles in Nevada are August 1 – July 31 every year. The renewal period opens in May, and renewals must be completed by August 1. There is a 30-day grace period after August 1 for registration renewal.

Registered interpreters are subject to the complaint process.

It is **unlawful** for a person to engage in the practice of sign language interpreting or the practice of realtime captioning in the State without registration. (<u>NRS 656A.800</u>)

Practice of interpreting means the facilitation of communication between persons who are deaf or whose hearing is impaired and other persons. (<u>NRS 656A.060</u>)

Practice of realtime captioning means the facilitation of communication between persons who are deaf or whose hearing is impaired and other persons through the use of Communication Access Realtime Translation. (<u>NRS 656A.062</u>)

To apply for registration:

Please read the information in this document carefully, then visit our website and select the application that fits your needs. Please have ready to upload the required documents as listed under the Qualification Requirements section. Complete applications are typically processed within 2 weeks.

Please direct any questions or concerns to the Nevada Interpreter/CART Registry at InterpreterRegistry@adsd.nv.gov, or 775-515-5452 (Voice/Text)

Registration Categories

Community Interpreter Provisional Community Interpreter

Educational Interpreter Provisional Educational Interpreter

Community & Educational Interpreter Provisional Community & Educational Interpreter

Student Interpreter

CART Provider

Interpreters must be registered in the category that matches the setting(s) in which they are providing interpreting services and may practice in accordance with the scope of practice prescribed for each category. Settings are defined as follows:

Community setting means any setting that is not a primary or secondary educational setting. The term includes, without limitation, a postsecondary educational setting, a legal setting and a medical setting. (<u>NRS 656A.027</u>)

Legal setting means 1. A communication with a law enforcement officer, as defined in NRS 197B.070, that relates to a criminal investigation; 2. A communication with an attorney who is acting in his or her professional capacity; 3. A negotiation for a contract for which the estimated amount required to perform the contract is \$1,000 or more; or 4. A judicial proceeding. (NRS 656A.033)

Medical setting means any communication between a provider of health care, as defined in NRS 629.031, and a patient or person acting on behalf of the patient concerning the provision of health care to the patient. (NRS 656A.035)

Postsecondary educational setting means communication relating to the participation by students in curricular or extracurricular programming provided by or through: 1. A university, college, or community college within the Nevada System of Higher Education; or 2. A postsecondary educational institution, as defined in NRS 394.099 (<u>NRS 656A.055</u>)

Primary or secondary educational setting means all communication relating to participation by pupils in educational programming or any other activity provided by or through a public school, school district, or private school in this state. (NRS 656A.0625)

Qualification Requirements

Items with an asterisk (*) indicate there is a waiver available. See page 8 for waiver information.

Community Interpreter

Community setting means any setting that is not a primary or secondary educational setting. The term includes, without limitation, a postsecondary educational setting, a legal setting and a medical setting. (<u>NRS 656A.027</u>)

Community Interpreter Registration (NAC 656A.240)

Minimum Requirements

- Education:
 - o Bachelor's degree* in any field
- Professional credentials:
 - Interpreter or Transliterator certification from a <u>recognized certifying body</u>; or
 - EIPA 4.0 **and** a passing score on a knowledge test* from a recognized certifying body

Scope of Practice

Community Interpreters may provide interpreting services in community settings in Nevada, which includes postsecondary education, medical, and legal. Each Community Interpreter is responsible for determining if they are qualified for each event based on their knowledge, skills, and abilities.

Provisional Community Interpreter Registration

Temporary registration limited to 5-years total. (NRS 656A.100, Sec. 5.)

Interpreters in this category must advance their credentials within 5 years to achieve Community Interpreter registration. Individuals who do not advance their credentials to register as a Community Interpreter by the 5-year provisional status deadline will no longer be eligible to register in a Provisional Interpreter category.

Minimum Requirements

- Education:
 - Associate's degree* in any field
- Professional credentials:
 - EIPA 3.5 <u>and</u> a passing score on a <u>knowledge test</u>* from a <u>recognized certifying body</u>; or
 - Completion of an approved <u>interpreter training degree program</u> <u>and</u> a passing score on a <u>knowledge test</u>* from a <u>recognized certifying body</u>; or
 - Provisional/novice certification from a <u>recognized certifying body</u>

Scope of Practice

Provisional Community Interpreters may provide interpreting services in community settings in Nevada, which includes postsecondary education, and medical. Provisional Community Interpreters are NOT allowed to interpret in legal settings. Each Provisional Community Interpreter is responsible for determining if they are qualified for each event based on their knowledge, skills, and abilities.

Primary or Secondary Educational Interpreter

Primary or secondary educational setting means all communication relating to participation by pupils in educational programming or any other activity provided by or through a public school, school district, or private school in this state. (<u>NRS 656A.0625</u>)

Educational Interpreter Registration (NAC 656A.290)

Minimum Requirements

- Education:
 - <u>Bachelor's degree</u>* in any field
- Professional credentials:
 - EIPA 4.0 and a passing score on the <u>EIPA Written Knowledge Test</u>*; or
 - Interpreter or Transliterator certification from a <u>recognized certifying body</u> and a passing score on the <u>EIPA Written Knowledge Test</u>*

Scope of Practice

Educational Interpreters provide interpreting services in PreK-12 educational settings in Nevada, which include primary and secondary levels. Each Educational Interpreter is responsible for determining if they are qualified for each event based on their knowledge, skills, and abilities.

Provisional Educational Interpreter Registration

Temporary registration limited to 5-years total. (NRS 656A.100, Sec. 5.)

Interpreters in this category must advance their credentials within 5 years to achieve Educational Interpreter registration. Individuals who do not advance their credentials to register as an Educational Interpreter by the 5-year provisional status deadline will no longer be eligible to register in a Provisional Interpreter category.

Minimum Requirements

- Education:
 - o <u>Associate's degree</u>* in any field
- Professional credentials:
 - EIPA 3.5+ and a passing score on the EIPA Written Knowledge Test*

Scope of Practice

Educational Interpreters provide interpreting services in PreK-12 educational settings in Nevada, which include primary and secondary levels. Each Educational Interpreter is responsible for determining if they are qualified for each event based on their knowledge, skills, and abilities.

Student Interpreter

A student interpreter is someone who is currently enrolled in an <u>approved training or preparation</u> <u>program</u> course that requires experience providing sign language interpreting in community, or primary or secondary educational settings (i.e., internship or practicum courses). Student Interpreter registration is valid only for the requirements of the course and expires on completion of or withdrawal from the course.

Student Interpreter Registration

Minimum Requirements

- Education:
 - High school diploma or equivalent
- Proof of enrollment:
 - Class schedule or transcript showing current enrollment in a course that requires experience providing interpreting; or
 - A letter from the institution verifying enrollment in a course that requires experience providing interpreting

Scope of Practice

- May only provide interpreting for the purposes of course participation and when being directly supervised by a registered interpreter (not another student interpreter); and
- May <u>not</u> interpret in legal settings

Communication Access Realtime Translation Provider

CART Provider Registration (NAC 656A.230)

Minimum Requirements

- Education:
 - High school diploma or equivalent
- Professional credentials:
 - Certified Court Reporters Board of Nevada Certification; or
 - Any other state licensing board or national organization with a minimum skills assessment of 200 words per minute.

Scope of Practice

CART Providers may provide CART services in Nevada. Each CART Provider is responsible for determining if they are qualified for each event based on their knowledge, skills, and abilities.

Renewal Requirements

Registration cycles in Nevada are August 1 – July 31 every year. The renewal period opens in May and renewals must be completed by August 1. There is a 30-day grace period for renewals after August 1. Additionally, there is a 3-month professional development and mentoring hours extension available on request. To request the extension please contact the Registry at InterpreterRegistry@adsd.nv.gov or 775-515-5452 (Voice/Text).

Registrations that are not renewed by the renewal date will expire and the individual will no longer be registered. Lapsed registrations can be renewed up to 2 years after the expiration date by submitting the required documentation to renew. After 2 years, the individual may submit a new application for registration.

Requirements for renewal vary by credential type

Certified interpreters and CART providers must show proof of their updated certification. Documentation must include the interpreter's name, certification, and expiration date after July 31 the year they are renewing.

EIPA 4.0+ credentialed interpreters must show proof of participation in 20 hours of professional development during the immediately preceding registration year; beginning the date they initially registered or most recently renewed and July 31 the year they are renewing.

Professional development documentation must include the interpreter's name, date(s) of activity(ies), total hours completed, and the name of the sponsoring or hosting entity.

Provisionally registered interpreters must show proof of participation in 20 hours of professional development and 20 hours of mentoring during the immediately preceding registration year; beginning the date they initially registered or most recently renewed and July 31 the year they are renewing.

Professional development documentation must include the interpreter's name, date(s) of activity(ies), total hours completed, and the name of the sponsoring or hosting entity. Mentoring logs must include the interpreter's name, dates and brief descriptions of mentoring activities, time spent on each activity, and a total time.

Student Interpreter registration cannot be renewed.

Credential changes

Registered interpreters who experience a change in credentials (updated EIPA score, new certification, revoked or suspended certification, etc.) must notify the Registry within 30 days of the change. Registration status may be updated to reflect the change in credentials.

Professional Development

Professional Development is required for all registered interpreters.

- <u>Certified</u> interpreters must maintain their certification as proof of their professional development hours.
- <u>Non-certified</u> interpreters must provide proof of participation in at least **20 hours per year** of professional development. Documentation must include the interpreter's name, date(s) of activity(ies), total hours completed, and the name of the sponsoring or hosting entity.

Professional development must consist of educational activities designed to improve the performance of an interpreter. Professional development must be related to studies in language, linguistics, culture, ethics, theory of interpreting, skills for interpreting, or another topic specific to the work of the interpreter.

Professional Development hours will only be accepted if they have been approved by a recognized certifying body (e.g., Registry of Interpreter for the Deaf (RID), American Translators Association (ATA), Certification Commission for Healthcare Interpreters (CCHI), International Medical Interpreters Association (IMIA), etc.) or is college coursework taken for credit at an accredited institution.

Professional development activity	Professional development hours
An event with approved Continuing Education Units by a recognized body	60 minutes equals 1 professional development hour
Accredited college coursework – semester system	1 semester credit with a grade of C or better equals 15 professional development hours (e.g., a 3-credit course = 45 PD hours)
Accredited college coursework – quarter system	1 quarter credit with a grade of C or better equals 10 professional development hours (e.g., a 3-credit course = 30 PD hours)

Mentoring

Mentoring is required for provisionally registered interpreters. They must provide proof of at least 20 hours of mentoring per year. Mentoring logs must include the interpreter's name, the mentor's name, dates and brief descriptions of mentoring activities, time spent on each activity, and a total time. Mentors will be required to electronically sign the log to confirm it is accurate. For a mentoring log template, please contact InterpreterRegistry@adsd.nv.gov or 775-515-5452 (Voice/Text).

Mentoring means activities facilitated by a mentor that are individually tailored to improve the skills and knowledge of an interpreter.

A mentor can be another interpreter who is registered or who meets the qualification requirements to register or anyone who is able to effectively provide mentoring.

Available Waivers

Some registration requirements may be waived either permanently or temporarily if the interpreter meets the criteria listed below.

Degree requirement

- Interpreters who received their certification or EIPA 3.5+ before August 1, 2023, must have a high school diploma or equivalent. (permanent)
- Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID) approved alternative pathway, must have a high school diploma or equivalent. (permanent)
- Interpreters who are certified or have achieved an EIPA 4.0+ with an AA degree (temporary up to 5 years)

Knowledge exam requirement - community and educational

New applicants only (temporary – 1 year)

Incomplete professional development and/or mentoring hours for renewal

Request extension (temporary – 3 months)

Additional Information

Recognized Certifying Body

The certifying bodies listed below meet the criteria to be accepted for registration in Nevada. Additional certifying bodies may be added as recognition is given.

Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID) – <u>www.rid.org</u>

Board for Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) - <u>https://www.hhs.texas.gov/providers/assistive-services-providers/board-evaluation-interpreters-certification-program</u>

Utah Interpreter Program - https://jobs.utah.gov/usor/uip/certification/index.html

Canadian Association of Sign Language Interpreters - <u>https://www.casli.ca/Home</u>

Kansas Quality Assurance Screening (KQAS) – Requires additional professional development hours - <u>https://www.kcdhh.ks.gov/communication-services/registration-regulations</u>

Approved Interpreter Training Degree Program

An interpreter training degree program will be approved if the program:

- 1. Is offered by an accredited college or university; and
- 2. Requirements for completion include participation in a field experience class where students must provide authentic interpreting services under supervision.

Exceptions

Registration is not required to provide sign language interpreting or CART or realtime captioning services for religious or civic non-profit organizations, or in situations where a qualified interpreter is not required by federal law.

Complaint Process

Any consumer of sign language interpreting or CART or realtime captioning services may file a complaint against a registered interpreter or CART or realtime captioning provider. Complaints may be submitted by using the online web form, by emailing <u>InterpreterRegistry@adsd.nv.gov</u>, by calling or texting 775-515-5452 (voice/text), or by scheduling an online video meeting.

Complaints must be submitted within 2 years of the event. When a complaint is received, the service provider and other witnesses may be contacted and interviewed to determine the validity and severity of the violation.

Service providers found in violation according to <u>Nevada Revised Statute 656A.500</u> may be subject to corrective or disciplinary actions in accordance with <u>NRS 656A.510</u>.

Non-Compliance

Anyone who provides sign language interpreting services or CART or reatime captioning services without registration for settings in which registration is required may be found guilty of a misdemeanor and may be fined up to \$5,000. (<u>NRS 656A.800</u>)

If you have any questions about the information provided in this document, please contact the Nevada Interpreter/CART Registry:

<u>Contact</u> 775-515-5452 (Voice/Text) <u>InterpreterRegistry@adsd.nv.gov</u>

<u>Website</u>

http://adsd.nv.gov/Programs/Physical/ComAccessSvc/Interpreter Registry/Interpreter Registry/

