Disability Rx Program


The Disability Rx Program is a state pharmaceutical assistance program for low-income seniors and persons with disabilities who are Medicare eligible and do not qualify for other services/programs, such as Extra Help or Medicaid.

Disability Rx is funded with a portion of Nevada’s share of tobacco settlement funds and was passed into law during the 1999 Legislative session.  Program benefits for members are coordinated directly with the Medicare Part D (PDP) or Medicare Advantage Plan (MAPD) that is contracted with the Disability Rx program. 

 

    2019 Program Benefits:

    • Provides a monthly subsidy of up to $37.00 for Medicare Part D or Advantage Plan Part D premiums for eligible members (depending on the member’s Part D plan and if not qualified for maximum extra help from Medicare).
    • Plan selection options for members that benefit their individual health needs.

      Program Changes Effective January 1, 2020

        • The Disability Rx Program is a Medicare Part D Premium Subsidy Only Program.
        •  As a Part D Premium Subsidy Only Program, the Disability Rx Program will pay the members monthly Part D Premium subsidy amount up to$37.00 per month (depending on the member's Part D plan)
        • The Disability Rx program will no longer cover the cost of medication while the member is in the Medicare Part D Gap/Donut Hole. With an up to $37.00 monthly subsidy, Disability Rx members are encouraged to evaluate and select a Part D Plan, or Medicare Advantage Plan with Part D coverage, that best meets their individual health needs, and may reduce their out of pocket costs.

          Qualifications:

          Eligible for Medicare: Applicants must be enrolled in a participating Medicare Part D Plan (PDP) or a Medicare Advantage Plan including Part D (MAPD).  In addition, beneficiaries who qualify for Extra Help with Part D costs (such as premiums, deductibles and co-payments) must, if approved, use that help. This is important because the Extra Help may cover more of the beneficiary’s out-of-pocket costs than the Disability Rx Program. Beneficiaries with very low incomes and limited assets should contact the Social Security Administration at 800-772-1213.

            Age Requirement: Disability Rx - Applicant must be 18 - 61 years of age.

              Income: Includes income from all sources for both applicant and spouse. Effective July 1, 2019, the maximum annual household income for singles is $30,556, and the maximum annual household income for married couples is $40,732. Proof of income is required when submitting a new application. Acceptable documents for proof of income may include a copy of your current tax return, and/or credible documentation of income source. 

              The Disability Rx program may request two-months copies of your most recent bank statements (deposit page only) to support income source.

              The Disability Rx program does factor in the current years IRS Standard Deduction when calculating income.

                Residency: Applicants must have lived continuously in Nevada for at least 12 consecutive months (one year) prior to the date of application.

                  If you think you qualify, complete the 2020 Senior Rx/Disability RX Application

                    For additional Disability Rx information, call toll free 1-866-303-6323 option 2 or send an email to nvrx@adsd.nv.gov.

                      For unbiased FREE Medicare Counseling or to sign up for a Medicare Part D plan please contact the State Health Insurance Program (SHIP) by visiting their website or by calling them at: Southern Nevada 800-307-4444 / Northern Nevada 877-385-2345

                        If you meet certain income and resource limits, you may qualify for Extra Help from Medicare to pay the costs of Medicare prescription drug coverage. In 2020, you may qualify if you have up to $19,380 in yearly income ($26,100 for a married couple) and up to $14,610 in resources ($29,160 for a married couple). To apply, contact the Social Security Administration at 800-772-1213 (TTY 1-800-325-0778) or Medicare at 800-633-4227.